BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Steven H. Abbey Allan R. Ambrose♡ James Anderson Kristopher J. Anderson Murray E. Ascher Robert Barry Jason Baxendale Matthew Berry Roger H. Bickel Patricia M. Bidwill Robert Blackwell, Jr. Scott A. Bremer Whitney Carlisle* Cason Carter Jonathan Casiano Michael Cassel Victor Chang Robert J. Christie Richard A. Ciccarone* Nancy J. Clawson Elizabeth G. Coolidge* Jason Coyle Omar Daghestani Gillian Darlow Barrett Davie Mark R Davis O John P. DeBlasio Raymond C. Drake Michelle Dukler John F. Dunn Bill Eager Craig Falduto Robert Fernandez Clayton Frick Stephen B. Friedman* Charles R. Gardner3 Judith A. Gold Daniel G. Goldwin Susan Hayes Gordon Andrew F. Gottschalk* Philip D. Hale Philip L. Hildebrandt Christine Hoagland Lori H. Igleski Mark Ishaug Nicholas P. Jordan William Ketchum Catherine Krawitz* Betty Latson Dan Leary Kandace Lenti Thomas E. Livingston Dave Lundy Daniel J. Lynch* Nasutsa Mabwa William D. Mack* Christine Maki Michael Marrah Thomas J. McNultvÖ Dorri McWhorter James S. Montana, Jr. Timothy E. Moran Clare Muñana Brian Murphy Michael E. Murphy Ashli Nelson* Randy Nornes Bert Nuehring Michael F. O'Brien Gregory O'Leary* Robert Pasin Neil Pritz Joseph J. Prochaska, Jr. Sylvia Puente David L. Reifman Anthony T. Reinhart Aaron Č. Rudberg* Scott Saef Gabriel W. Sanders Rebekah Scheinfeld Zack Schrantz Lois Scott Harry J. Seigle* Joseph Seliga Brian Septon3 Sapan Shah Steven Shaw Daniel C. Sprehe* Barbara L. Stewart Matthew Summy Kent A. Swanson Sarfraz M. Taj* Carol Thompson* Kathy A. Thompson* Allen B. Truesdell David J. Vitale Daniel Wagner Leon I. Walker Andrew L. Weil A.J. Wilhelmi Simon Wlodarski Meghan Woltman

The Civic Federation

10 North Dearborn Street, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60602 | 312-201-9066 | civicfed.org

January 21, 2021

The Hon. JB Pritzker Governor, State of Illinois

Dear Governor Pritzker:

The Civic Federation has significant concerns about House Bill 2451 (101st General Assembly), which expands a 3% non-compounded automatic annual pension increase to all Tier 1 City of Chicago firefighters. As such, we respectfully encourage you to veto this piece of legislation.

As you know, the Civic Federation is an independent, non-partisan government research organization founded in 1894. Our mission is to maximize the quality and cost-effectiveness of government services in the Chicago region and State of Illinois.

If enacted, House Bill 2451 will prove very costly for City of Chicago taxpayers by adding pension benefits without implementing reforms or addressing the City's ability to adequately fund its firefighters' and other pensions. While the Civic Federation recognizes the important work of Illinois first responders, unilaterally burdening Chicago taxpayers during a time of significant budget stress for the City is the wrong decision.

City officials estimate the proposed changes will cost taxpayers \$18-\$30 million per year in increased payments, for a total of \$850 million through 2055. If a similar change is passed in the coming months for the Chicago police pension fund, as is already being discussed, it would cost the City an additional \$51-\$90 million per year or \$2.6 billion more through 2055. The City has limited options to meet these increased payments aside from the property tax, the vast majority of which is already dedicated to pensions and related debt. Further, the firefighters fund is already severely underfunded at under 20%. This change will significantly increase the fund's unfunded liability and decrease its funded ratio, which it can ill afford.

Thank you for the opportunity to share the Civic Federation's perspective on House Bill 2451. I welcome you to contact me at lmsall@civicfed.org or 312-593-8870 with any questions.

Sincerely,

Jameme J. Menll Laurence J. Msall

President

CC:

Deputy Governor Dan Hynes Senator Robert F. Martwick, Primary Sponsor, House Bill 2451 Illinois Senate President Don Harmon Illinois Senate Republican Leader Dan McConchie Speaker of the Illinois House Chris Welch Illinois House Republican Leader Jim Durkin



OFFICERS

Jeffrey Bethke Vice Chair Donovan W. Pepper Vice Chair

Monica Mueller

Jill Wolowitz Vice Chair Catherine Krawitz

Treasurer

Laurence J. Msall President

Sarah J. Wetmore Vice President

*Executive Committee De Past Chair's Council